Keeping a dog warm?!?!?!

Angry Keeping a dog warm?!?!?!

My parents have two large breed outdoor dogs and it's infuriating me and my husband that they won't bring them in the house where its warm and where they should be in the winter. They have built a makeshift shelter with hay thrown down, but that is not nearly enough! So me and my husband are taking matters into our own hands and buying them each a dog house and now we are trying to find a way to keep the inside of the dog house at least 60 degrees at all times. If we line the walls with a Mylar blanket will that be enough to reflect their own heat to keep them warm? I've been trying to find a way to keep them warm that doesn't use electricity so they don't have an excuse for not keeping them warm.
    I am a industrial engineer by trade and have even tinkered with the idea of building a small outdoor wood stove and using double-walled duct work or a solar powered fan to radiate the heat through both dog houses. I am in the process of buying a house and told my parents I would take them when we move in, but I don't know how far out that is. I would take them now, but if my landlord were to find out I had dogs me and my family would be evicted so I can't do that. I am just desperate to make sure they are well taken care of. They live 3 hours away so I can't just jump in a car and go there.

Hello and welcome. I'm so happy to hear that you and your husband are being proactive about this and going that extra mile to keep these dogs warm, you're both very kind. It's sad that your parents won't let them in the house in winter, especially at night.