Hacking and gagging after teeth cleaning

Hello friends,

I'm a newbie here and this is my first post. I have a question that has probably been addressed before but I need to ask someone who knows.

I am owned by an 11+ year old Papillon who adores me and I him. I had his teeth cleaned this past Thurs. by our local vet and this has happened before about 2 years ago when it was last done. He went under anathesia and has been gagging and has a hacking cough ever since. I called the vet back on Monday and he prescribed Clavamox antibiotic as a remedy. It is now Wednesday and I don't see improvement.

Has anyone experienced this before and is there some other reason why this happens. It wasn't as bad when I had it done 2 years ago but now it seems worse. He is basically very healthy otherwise and I am very concerned about this. Please help with whatever advice anyone can give and thank you very much in advance.

Welcome LGF. I don't have any experience with vet cleanings, as I have never had them done. I don't like the idea of the frequent anesthesia. I've had good luck with scaling my dog's teeth at home, but that needs to start as puppies...and I know it's not a realistic expectation for all pet owners.

I'm guessing that it might be a reaction to the particular type of anesthesia they used this time, maybe different from last cleaning. The other thing would be that maybe there was something that happened during the procedure that shouldn't have, like the dog had something go down his throat and is now stuck there, causing problems.

In my opinion, doctors are often quick to hand out antibiotics for everything. Even if it's suggested that something may have gone wrong with their end of the process, maybe performed by a hygienist that had little experience, they will rarely if ever admit fault. Another reason I avoid unnecessary procedures when I can.