Toy eating

Toy eating

Is it safe for my dog to be eating his plastic toys?

They tend to be things like little shoes and small rubber bones.

It seems to go straight through his system but I wanted to be sure.

It's not ideal for sure, but even the toughest chew toy, like the big black Kong toys, will get some rubber chewed off in time. If you notice the dog is actually eating large pieces of rubber, plastic or cloth, the toy must be taken away and trashed. If it's just dented/scraped from regular chewing, I wouldn't worry too much.

I'm not an expert on these things, but I watch my pup like a hawk with his toys and things he picks up outside. We've thrown out a lot of toys since we got him, just for his own safety. We constantly monitor him with new toys. I always seem to be taking something out of his mouth with my fingers, luckily he lets me and my husband do that and is gentle to avoid biting us.

I agree with Alpha1 and although I don't have a dog I have to be just as careful with toys for my cats. For example string is very hazardous when digested.
    “Save a life and save a stray”

I agree with Alpha, if your dog swallows something that doesn't pass surgery may be necessary to remove it.
    he is your friend and protector, he will love you unconditionally, you owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion

I can't believe you're even asking this question !

I think a lot of people let their pets eat parts of their toys, sometimes only find out when cleaning up after them. You're right Esme about the string, we had to watch our cat with dental floss, he seemed to like the mint, now we're very cautious to dispose of it in a closed trash can where he can't get it. He was a kitten back them, he may have outgrown the temptation, but you can't be too careful.