Cat Urinating Outside of the Box

AutumnMarie

Hello everyone!
Currently, I have been housing my sister's cat for 2 years(its a long story).
Very recently, I have noticed urine outside if the box. Assuming she was just missing, I cleaned it up. That doesn't seem to be the case. She walks to my front door or the wall and pees on the floor. She still urinates and poops in the litter box as well. Its not that she cant hold it, she walks over and squats and pees.
We have ruled out change in location, household, etc. Medical is also ruled out.
Does anyone have any ideas?

*She is about 6-7 years old and fixed.

TTouch

So number one is medical which you have ruled out hopefully by visiting the vets, then litter box not clean/using different litter/box in a high traffic place, then other pets in the household, all of those also cause stress/anxiety to the cat...and lots of other things can too.like you being upset, change in your work hours, new person coming to the home...basically any change and cats don't like change and will display 'bad behaviours' like this to deal with the stress it causes them

An anxious cat might pee elsewhere as a way to relieve their anxiety because the smell of their own urine makes them feel safer. So the answer is stress, find the reason for the stress and you will change the behaviour

Last edited:

Alpha1

Pack Leader and Lover
Hello everyone!
Currently, I have been housing my sister's cat for 2 years(its a long story).
Very recently, I have noticed urine outside if the box. Assuming she was just missing, I cleaned it up. That doesn't seem to be the case. She walks to my front door or the wall and pees on the floor. She still urinates and poops in the litter box as well. Its not that she cant hold it, she walks over and squats and pees.
We have ruled out change in location, household, etc. Medical is also ruled out.
Does anyone have any ideas?

*She is about 6-7 years old and fixed.