Spider Bite Issues!

Beachgirl

Hello, everyone! Newbie here. :) Has anyone had the unpleasant experience of having a spider bite your cat? A bite that resulted not only in an abscess but having your cat seem to not get well again even after a month and a half? Even my veterinarian is at a loss as to how to help her besides just some supportive care at the moment. Here's a rundown of what has been done already. Keep in mind that my cat is about 13 years old and was a completely healthy and energetic pet up until this happened:
Beginning of February: Noticed small lump on her left side by her elbow that quickly blew up into an abscess. The vet who drained it initially thought it was a cat bite from another family cat then changed his opinion when he couldn't find a second fang mark along with the necrotic tissue he saw. He did warn me that there was the possibility this may take a few months or so to clear out altogether. Her abscess site swelled back up and I had to take her in again. To date, she has had 2 Convenia injections, a 7 day round of liquid clindamycin, and a 10 day round of doxycycline that just ended this weekend. Bloodwork indicated high white blood cell counts, thus the doxy...and she is now anemic. All other counts were normal. X-rays showed no abnormalities. She has had a few rounds of fluids and a stretch of B12 injections. Pet Tinic is on hand but she hates it. The abscess site is completely healed, however, except for what feels like a ridge of odd tissue under the skin. Vet says that would probably take surgery to remove. The problem is my cat just continues to be lethargic and feverish off and on. She is eating but has lost a lot of weight. With the doxy she really seemed like she was finally getting better then went down again even while still on it.